Wednesday evening: worked, ran, watched Murderball, read Housefics, posted Bloopers fanvid, blah…

I ran for 40 minutes at lunchtime. It was extremely hot, but I was wearing my Icebreaker long-sleeved merino wool top. That’s because I forgot to look out of the window before I went to get changed, and wrongly thought it was overcast. Not the smartest piglet on the block, eh… anyway, suffice it to say that I was utterly wiped out and panting by the end, which wasn’t really v. good.

Made grilled chicken with a sort of tikka/yoghurt marinade for dinner, with a huge salad. Yum 🙂 Booths (a supermarket) has some really great things in the salad department, especially some great sprouting things and some particularly delicious organic cucumbers. I love salad. I just wish I didn’t love crisps too!

I’ve just watched a documentary — Murderball — which is about the US paralympic rugby team, and their battle with the Canadian team at the 2004 Paralympic Games. Wow… this made every other rough game I’ve ever seen look like table tennis! Most of the team had been injured in car crashes, but one (possibly two) had contracted meningitis. One had had childhood polio. It was truly inspiring, and a great and hopefully lasting reminder not to take my body for granted.

Not sure of the plan for the rest of the evening, but some sort of farting around followed by an early night, I think. I find that I can’t manage to read in bed these days because 5 minutes after I get in I’m falling asleep. It’s actually pretty irritating. When I was a child/teenager I could read all night in bed, and it’s not as though I was slouching around doing nothing during the day. Sigh… must be old age I suppose *g*

Lemme see… I wonder whether there are any House fans out there. I spent some time earlier checking up on House_Wilson, which is a community over on Livejournal where the House/Wilson writers, vidders, artists and readers hang out. I’ve discovered fan fiction in the last year. It turns out that there are people who write stories about established fictional characters and post them on the internet. (They used to distribute them in magazines, but the net’s made it all much easier.) I stumbed across some accidentally, and initially assumed it would be terrible stuff, but I stopped to take a look and in fact some of it is absolutely excellent! There’s an amazing amount of this stuff around, in what are known as fandoms. People who do this sort of stuff tend not to talk about fannish things to others, though, because it sounds sort of naff. I don’t care, though, and have always been v. much in favour of retaining an open mind, so I’m spreading the word *g*

Anyway, as well as writing there’s vidding, which is taking clips from an episode and setting them to music — a song or whatever. Here’s the vid I made out of the Blooper Reel on the House Series 2 DVD set 🙂 Okay, so I’m a sad, naff addict, but it’s a lot of fun and now I can make videos and write fanfics as well as stagger round the woods and haul myself up mountains. Heh…

Blooper-Duper

2 Responses to Wednesday evening: worked, ran, watched Murderball, read Housefics, posted Bloopers fanvid, blah…

  1. Dawn says:

    Hi Shirl. Nice to see you around, where you been girl? Good to see you have my blog site on your list. Unfortunately another blog site of mine has somehow linked itself in. Not to worrage. Hope to meet up sometime. Take care. Dawn

  2. Jeff Pepper says:

    Hi Shirl,Great to see you back after all this time.Really looking forward to seeing your revised kit list.Would I be correct in assuming that you didn’t enter TGO Challenge this year?Was looking forward to seeing another of your write ups on this event.Anyway,keep up the good work.Regards JEFF PEPPER.

Leave a Reply

