Rant! Beware Note Tab Pro / Plimus / Fookes Software

Bloody hell! I’ve been using a trial version of Note Tab Pro for a month or so, as an HTML editor. This morning I spotted a change that I need to make to a page on my website, but when I tried to start the programme it told me that the trial period was over.

I went to the web page and paid for it with Paypal–£20–and although the company, Plimus, took my money immediately I received an email from them as follows.

Thank you for submitting your order for NoteTab-NoteTab Pro using Plimus. Your order
is currently being reviewed by our staff for quality purposes, this process is
usually completed within a few minutes, however, please allow up to 12 hours to hear
back from us. If you wish to expedite your approval, please click on the following
link to add your comments:
[URL removed by me]

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, your order will be processed
shortly. If you have any question about your order or wish to leave us a comment,
please click on the following link:
[URL removed by me]

Important: Do not submit another order through our system as this will further delay
the processing and may cause a double-billing to your credit card.

Thanks for your patience,

Plimus Sales

What a bloody cheek! They’ve taken my money (my Paypal account confirms it) but they haven’t sent me the registration code! I’ve emailed them, but they haven’t yet responded.

What on earth makes manufacturers who sell software online for immediate download imagine that it’s okay to make people who’ve paid for a product wait any period of time at all, let alone an indefinite period, while they ‘review the order for quality purposes’? I came across this sort of thing a couple of times a few years ago, when online selling was less common, but not recently. Nor had I expected to encounter it from the vendor of a well-known product like this.

Rant, rant, rant…

Edited to add:

Well, it all arrived about 20 minutes later, so all’s well etc etc. It turns out that Fookes Software, who produce Note Tab Pro, employ Plimus to sell it for them. I’ve written to Fookes Software to tell them about this weird practice, and I’ll be interested to see whether they reply or not.

/rant

15 Responses to Rant! Beware Note Tab Pro / Plimus / Fookes Software

  1. John Hesp says:

    I know what you mean, you almost expect it from somebody selling dog beds, but not a software company. I’ve come across things like that occasionally, but I have found that despite their warnings they can be reasonably fast.

    I was going to ask you what software you used to make your website as I really like the layout. I was hoping it was something a little easier to use than an html editor, but I’ll go and have a look at it.

  2. peewiglet says:

    It’s come now. Still, I was so annoyed that I emailed Customer Services. It turns out that Plimus handle web orders for the manufacturers, who are actually Fooks Software. If I were the manufacturers I wouldn’t want my agents deterring potential customers like that.

    Thanks for your kind words re: the layout of my website. In fact, I’ve used a number of programmes to write it over the years, and it just happens that I’m using Note Tab Pro to maintain it at the moment. I started with a couple of WYSIWYG editors, and it’s really very simple to make sites with those programmes these days.

    I reckon my site is massively due for a re-design; it’s out of date in a number of places, and there are things on it now that I’m not really interested in any more. Because of the way it’s written, though, I’d have to do each page individually, so I’m very slowly psyching myself up to re-do it using Cascading Style Sheets. Next year, perhaps 🙂

  3. John Hesp says:

    I tried a couple of WYSIWYG editors years ago and whilst they were easy to use I found that one was tied to using that software with that site, as the site was saved in a proprietry format. Note Tab Pro looks a bit more sophisticated than I thought it’d be, and it must be great to have control over the html, and presumably the ability to move the html to another editor if you want to.

    Whilst it might not be suitable for a site that needs all the bells and whistle available, for a simple site such as yours (and I mean that as a compliment) and the sort of thing I want to do, I’m thinking it might be good.

    Fookes Software………..hmmm. Sounds like it’ll be really good or really bad.

  4. peewiglet says:

    Fookes Software………..hmmm. Sounds like it’ll be really good or really bad.

    Lol… 🙂

    I found when I decided to make a website that the bit requiring most thought was simply deciding on what design I wanted. Things were simpler then–there was no Java, or Flash, or CCS–and that meant that I could browse around, spot designs I admired, take a look at the HTML they were using (View/Page Source) and do a bit of reverse engineering, making modifications as I became more experienced.

    I’m not a sophisticated writer of HTML, and I’ve found that those who are will normally recommend writing it by hand rather than using an HTML editor. I’ve found that a bit of mix and match has worked for me though.

    Having said that, there have been occasions when I’ve spent hours–or days, even!–tearing my hair out whilst trying to resolve some sort of peculiarity introduced into the HTML by whatever Editor I was using at the time. Not recently, though, since it must be 4 years since I produced that design.

    Unless things have moved on again since I last looked, CSS is definitely the way to go now, as by using it it’s possible to make changes to all pages simply by altering one ‘script’. I’d read up on it a bit before the last re-design but–stupidly–I didn’t use it. I regret that now.

    Thanks for what you say about simplicity, btw: I do take that as a compliment, as that’s precisely what I was aiming for 🙂

  5. alan.sloman says:

    Hello Mistress Webmeister!

    Is there any chance that you could increase the size of the comments text? Even with my new ‘eyewear’ I am struggling to read it!

    Cheers
    love from,
    Old Git

  6. peewiglet says:

    Hellooooooooo, Slowman.

    I’ll try. I have the same problem! I thought maybe it was just my computer, but clearly not. Hmmm…

    *applies cold compress to head and makes for dashboard*

  7. Mad Jim says:

    That’s utterly crap, Shirl. It seems to imply that you need to be approved just to buy their software Fucking halfwits.

    Shout if you need help with your CSS woes.

  8. peewiglet says:

    Howdy, Gordy. Yeah! Crazy… It’ll be interesting to see whether Customer Services reply. I’m rarely irritated enough to make the effort to actually write.

    Ta v. much for your offer of help with the CSS 🙂 I really do need to get my head round it at some stage fairly soon. A quick check here (i.e. WordPress) suggests that in order to be able to edit the CSS it’s necessary to purchase an add-on, which I’ll probably do if I can’t find another theme to use instead. I’m off to browse through them now.

    Incidentally, those two laptops you helped me with (wireless broadband) are still working fine. I often think of you with gratitude when I settle down with them in another part of the house.

  9. peewiglet says:

    Alan — it seems that the only way for me to do it is to edit the CSS which underlies the page, but I can’t do that without purchasing a WordPress add-on. If I can’t find another theme to use I’ll do that, as the comment size is driving me mad too 🙂

    In the meantime, it’s always possible to increase font size on any webpage by pressing Ctl+ on the keyboard (and to decrease it with Ctl-), but I don’t expect people to have to do that in order to be able to read the page. Grrr!

  10. Gayle says:

    Wow! Never knew that about Ctrl+ and Ctrl-. Learn something new every day – and today it was useful, which is always a big bonus.

  11. peewiglet says:

    Hiya, Gayle 🙂

    Useful trick, eh? I didn’t know about it either until someone tipped me off some time last year.

    So many tricks; so little time… *g*

  12. Mad Jim says:

    You could always move your blog to your own website. Then you can do whateve you like to it without having to shell out.

  13. Derek says:

    Hi there – Any chance you can sling me your email address so that I can respond to you directly on this matter. Many thanks Derek, Plimus.

  14. peewiglet says:

    Hi Derek,

    Thanks for making contact. My email addy is shirl AT peewiglet DOT com.

  15. […] Note Tab Pro/Plimus/Fookes Software Unusually, I was irritated enough yesterday morning to post about what happened when I paid Fookes Software via Paypal for a licence to use their product, Note Tab […]

Leave a Reply

