Bought a camera tripod – officially an addict :)

After spending some hours kneeling in nettles and thistles on Thursday, and suffering from hand-shake when trying to take close-ups of tiny things next to the path, I bought a tripod yesterday and went back to the woods.

Wow! What a wonderful way to spend the afternoon! I’m totally hooked, and can’t see myself being able to leave the tripod at home when I go backpacking. I’ll have to look around for a nice light one. Any ideas, peeps?

More pics here 🙂

9 Responses to Bought a camera tripod – officially an addict :)

  1. David Biggins says:

    Hi Peewiglet,

    Unfortunately the combination of light, sturdy and not eyewateringly expensive in tripods is an impossible one to find. The cheaper ones tend to be a bit flimsy, particularly if you have a heavy lens on the camera. Having said that I’ve been very happy with my Velbon Ultra Maxi SF for walks (can’t remember the price, but I think it was around £100) when I can be bothered to carry a tripod.

    If you just want something to steady the camera for nature close-ups though, or any other shot for that matter, you might want to look at getting a Gorillapod – very useful thing to pop in a rucksack. It isn’t a full-size tripod, but you can usually find something to stand it on or wrap it around.

    Very much enjoyed reading about your GR20 adventures. After reading about your quest for a goat’s cheese salad I set off to make one – I’m now hooked on them!

    Best wishes,
    David

  2. peewiglet says:

    Hello David 🙂

    Many thanks for the info and suggestion about the tripod. In fact, the tripod I bought yesterday is a Velbon, and it sounds from what you say as though I made a good choice. I’ve just taken a quick scan at the Ultra models, and they sound great. I’ll look into them further.

    In fact, I’ve got a Gorillapod and I’ll think again about it now. The only time I’ve used it was the day before yesterday in the woods, and I found it a bit of a faff to regulate the leg length and more of a faff to try to adjust the angle of tilt. Having said that, maybe I should try it again because it’s so light and relatively compact.

    I’m v. glad to hear that you enjoyed my GR20 adventures, and also that you’re now addicted to goat’s cheese salad 🙂 I really love it. Mmmm…. in fact, now you have me wondering whether I should just nip out to the shops and buy some *g*

    Thanks again for the advice — much appreciated.

  3. Bob Martin says:

    Hi,

    I thought you might enjoy seeing some nice landscape shots. Jon Gibbs used to be a regular contributor to the ‘Hotshots’ feaure in Digital Camera. He’s done some very nice work. See http://www.jon-gibbs.co.uk/

  4. Peewiglet says:

    Wow, Bob! What unbelievably fantastic pictures! Thank you very much indeed for the link.

  5. Dawn says:

    Shirl. You are a bad influence on me. Sifting through e bay, I spotted a digital slr and have put a bid on it. By the by, latest blog up. Dawn.

  6. Podcast Bob says:

    OMG!! It’ll now take you FOREVER to walk across Scotland if you snap everything you see on route ;-))

  7. Red Yeti says:

    It’s funny you should be asking that – so was I:

    A lightweight but tall tripod?

    I think I’ll be going for the Gitzo Mountaineer (don’t tell the bank…).

    I’ll be on about how I should have had one in Iceland – once I finally put something up about it!

    Probably the first one will finally make it up there tomorrow…

  8. beardedgit says:

    Hi PW – long time no see.

    Great pics! What is it about walkers and their affinity with all things fungal???

    Oh, and here’s another vote for a Velbon – I nabbed an Ultra Maxi-F a while back and it’s brilliant.

  9. peewiglet says:

    Hello BG! It’s lovely to see you again 🙂

    Yeah! Bring on that fungus. It’s such fascinating stuff. I found some absolutely amazing earth star fungi in the woods a couple of months ago: huge!

    Thanks for the Velbon recommendation too. It sounds as though that’s the way I’ll be going.

Leave a Reply

