David Blunkett — trampled by cows attacking his dog

Read all about it!

See, I know it makes sense for me to be afraid of those bloody great cows!

My Irish mother, from generations of farming stock, brought me up to be unafraid of them, but experience has taught me different. And as for those little bullocky bastards who hang around stiles in malignant little groups, waiting for defenceless walkers… I’ve had to take countless detours to avoid them. “Shoot them all!” is what I say!

A swarm of piglets would never have done that to David Blunkett and his wee dog. Piglet is appalled. (The cat just laughed.)

10 Responses to David Blunkett — trampled by cows attacking his dog

  1. wold ranger says:

    you cannae blame the coos!! it’s them dogs and there malingering owners which are the problem. stick to cats they never like you but at least you know where you stand. blooming dogs on the trail are the bane of my life, forever barking at you and leaving muddy paw prints on your trouers. ps piglet is cute;-)

    • peewiglet says:

      Hee… 🙂

      I think there should be a rule against dogs more than 12 inches tall. Piglet agrees.

  2. philt says:

    I like the NFU advice: “The best thing to do is to let the dog off the lead so it can run away”. How does that leave you if it’s your guide dog then?!

  3. Lone Walker says:

    Great video!
    The young cows/bullocks/heifers whatever have to make the most of actually being able to run. Within a year or so most of them can barely walk! We’ve all seen them shuffling down the lanes, or across motorway bridges, so full of either milk or new calves (or both) they can barely move and half of them limping from injuries.

  4. John Hesp says:

    I think cows are okay (not brilliant), but it’s good advice to let Piglet off the lead if cows start showing an interest in the two of you. And remember, despite rumours to the contrary, that tungsten tip on your Pacerpole is there to poke cows with.

    Pigs, now there’s something to be scared of. She’ll be okay now, but don’t get into the sty with her later on when she’s got piglets.

    (On that NT list I linked to did you see Durgan? Check out Durgan on the www and MM. If I was single I’d be there).

  5. chrissy says:

    A friend once told me to wave my warms and shout at over curious cows. I did that one and the ‘b’ thing stamped its feet and snorted. Yeah right, like I am going to do that again.
    There have been incidents with farmers even and just recently a vet was trampled to death. I had a near escape myself last week when out with the dog. I hadn’t realised there were cows in the field, but on returning, they were blocking the exit and they gave chase!
    Farmers should by law be required to put danger notices up where a public footpath goes through a field and especially when there are calves.

    • peewiglet says:

      Hi there,

      The point about danger notices is an interesting one. I’ve never seen a warning about cows with calves in a field, but from time to time I do see the ‘Danger! Bull in field’ notices. However, I’ve never actually seen a bull in one of the fields marked with a notice, although I have seen them in unmarked fields. To be honest, I’ve come to suspect that farmers put those ‘Bull’ notices up just to scare the walkers!

  6. John Hesp says:

    No more signs please!! We seem to increasingly live in a world of signs. I hate the ****** things.

    “DANGER STEEP CLIFF”

    “Oh yes, I suppose it would hurt if I fell down there.”

    Mind you, I do have my favourites. On the small hospital at Lynton there’s a sign saying “Have a go!” which amuses me every time I see it. I should point out that the sign refers to one of those chuck-a-coin-into-bucket things, but even so…….

    I think we’ve surrounded ourselves with so many signs that we don’t bother reading any of them (most of them are meaningless), which is a shame as there are a few interesting ones, such as the Lynton one mentioned above, and speed signs on roads (people don’t read them do they?).

    Chrissy, I’ll counter your “Beware Cow” sign, with “Danger, I’ve got a dog” sign. I’ve sufferd more dog related damage than cow related damage, and the southwest has quite a high cow population.

Leave a Reply

