Exciting walk, a rescue and a spot of music

Piggly and I set off for the woods this afternoon, with Piggly firmly secured on her extendable lead. She’s only a few days into her first season, and I’m absolutely determined that there isn’t going to be any sort of regretable incident. Judging from her reactions to other dogs Piglet sees things differently, but I’m still just about strong enough to drag her away.

About 20 minutes into the walk I spotted a large, black bird hopping around anxiously on the path in front of us. I stopped, and it began to seem clear that the little bird had injured its wing. I’m not quite sure what it was, not being any sort of expert in the bird department, but I’m pretty sure it was a young crow.

Piglet was more than anxious to befriend the bird. Yeah, right… *g* So I secured her lead to a fence and went over for a closer look. The poor little bird was naturally frightened. It wasn’t clear to me whether it was a baby (can baby crows be as big as that, I wonder?), but I was pretty sure it had hurt its wing, and so I didn’t feel comfortable simply moving it into the bushes and leaving it. Dogs and their owners walk the path in question regularly, and I’m sure it wouldn’t have lasted long.

So, in the end I decided to put it into my day sack and take it to the vet. I picked it up, settled it down on a fleece and almost closed the zips, in the hope that a dark environment might be less frightening. All three of us made our way back to the start of the path, and 30 minutes later the vet was very happy to take it in. Apparently the injury to its wing is superficial, and they plan to keep it for a few days and then let it go. They said they might ring me so that I could take it back to where I found it and release it. I hope they do, and so does Piglet. I think that’s what she was saying, anyway, but it was a bit difficult to be sure, through all the drool… Naughty wee dog.

I’ve just finished making a scrummy salad for dinner. I’ve chucked it into the fridge, and now I’m going to slob in the bath and phone a friend 🙂 After that I’ll eat.

As I was putting dinner together I was listening to some music on my MP3 player, since I’ve not yet got round to adding a new chunk of my audiobook. Here are a couple of the things I particularly enjoyed, culled, once again, from the ever exhilarating YouTube.

Leave a Reply

