Illness all round, chez Peewiglet

ill

I’m beginning to wonder whether The Sty has fallen foul of some sort of vile lurgy.

1. I spent the whole weekend feeling like death, but I thought it was clearing up yesterday.

2. Last night Piglet sat staring as I ate dinner–begging for a scrap (she didn’t get one)–and then half an hour later she puked 6 times. Yes, folks, that’s *six* times… 3 lots of kibble mixed with carrot (where the hell did it all come from, I wonder? And apparently the old adage about carrots in puke holds good for dogs as well…) and then 3 lots of greenish phegmy-looking gunk. Then she lay down in her little bed and trembled for 30 minutes.

I rang the emergency vet, who advised me to give her no more than 2 tablespoons of ice-cold water, and the same again in an hour or so. She wouldn’t drink at first, but she licked some water rather pathetically off my finger later in the evening. An hour or so after that she dragged herself out of her bed to try to torment the cat–a clear sign of improvement–and this morning she’s 100%.

3. Meanwhile, I now have the one-sided Sore Throat From Hell. I’ve had a sore throat for 10 days, but today it’s so painful that I can barely swallow. Whine… I’ve made an appointment with the GP for later this afternoon, and will have to take my antibiotics (if he prescribes them) up to the Lakes with me this evening, as that’s where Piglet and I are headed, come what may.

Let’s hope the cat hasn’t developed a mysterious wasting illness by the time we get home…

4 Responses to Illness all round, chez Peewiglet

  1. I am sorry to hear this. I hope it clears up quickly and you can still enjoy your trip to the Lakes.

    • peewiglet says:

      Sorry for the extremely belated response. Disorganisation still rules the day here! Thanks for your kind wishes 🙂

  2. Tnelson says:

    I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.

Leave a Reply

