More walk-related thoughts

I’m still thinking of doing a long walk, but overnight my thoughts have turned more towards the GR10 than LEJOG.

I’ve wanted to do the GR10 for ages–all that fantastic scenery, and sunshine, and relative absence of biting insects, and, of course, the food in the villages and the chance to practise my French for a month and a half. Sounds very exciting to me.

This defo isn’t the right time of year for that one, though, so perhaps I’ll make a provisional plan to go next Spring, and do it if I’m still free. In the meantime, though, I do want to go and do something.

Gayle suggested the SWC trail, which sounds great. Piglet’s not done any of the Pennine Way yet, though, and I suppose we could zip up and do it in reverse. I must get out the longish walks book and have a browse.

Edited to add: Okay, I have a plan *g* I’ll let y’all know what it is when I’ve looked into it a little more thoroughly. If all goes according to plan, though, then this time next month Piglet and I will be out there doing it!

8 Responses to More walk-related thoughts

  1. Darrell says:

    Hi Shirly,

    I need to talk to you about something, Please get intouch

  2. kateC says:

    GR10 does sound much more glamorous than lejog 😉 i’m very intrigued by your plan ‘g’. i love the fact that your long walks take at least a week!

    • peewiglet says:

      Heh *g* I reckon this one will be about a month, but I’m still plotting waypoints and only when I’ve done that will I be able to try to work out a route…

  3. alan.sloman says:

    “Piglet’s not done any of the Pennine Way yet”

    How about Dale Head to Horton in Ribblesdale via Pen-y-Gent? Poor little Piglet, maligned like that. All that effort for nought!

    What would they say over on BTW?

  4. JimmyBean says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

