Finally getting somewhere with the blogging/phone/GPS issue!

Wow, this stuff is complicated!

Anyway… I’m currently with Vodafone, paying £10pm for 100 minutes and 500 texts. Turns out that if I pay £15pm I can have unlimited (well, 500MB) internet access too, so that’s what I’ve decided to do. I’m going to buy a phone separately.

The question now is: what phone? I’m very keen on the Blackberry Curve, but I’m also very tempted to just go for the HTC Touch Pro (or Touch Pro 2) which comes with a good keyboard *and* will allow me to use my existing Quo mapping, buy a couple of spare batteries and see how I get on. Over on the Quo forum the Glofiish X800 was recommended for GPS use, so that’s another possibility.

Ultimately I just can’t bring myself to buy digital mapping yet again, especially since I’ve only just got the Quo GB 1:50k and the Lakes and Dales at 1:25k. Viewranger looks very good, and if I hadn’t bought Quo I might have gone for that and bought a Nokia, but I just… can’t quite bring myself to do it! *g*

So now it’s just a matter of getting the phone.

Incidentally, I’ve just had an incredibly helpful telephone conversation with a bloke at Vodafone! He patiently answerered all my questions and even explained about the Blackberry ‘push email’ add-on (I hadn’t understood what it meant before, and I now realise I wouldn’t need it if I were to get a Blackberry). He checked my existing useage (I hadn’t previously known how to do it) and established that I’m doing fine on my 100 minutes/500 texts package, and as a result he’s saved me quite a lot of money as I’d prolly have gone for one of the £30 or £35pm deals otherwise, that go on for 2 years and come with a ‘free’ phone. (I might still have done that if they still had the HTC Touch Pro available, but they don’t.) Anyway, most of my previous telephone conversations with Vodafone, Orange and O2 have been painful, so it was a real joy to come across somebody so helpful and patient. Thank you, Alistair 🙂

10 Responses to Finally getting somewhere with the blogging/phone/GPS issue!

  1. BG! says:

    Don’t any of these phone companies have “try before you buy” schemes? Maybe you should pump Alistair a bit to see if he can get something arranged for you, perhaps in return for a product/service review?

  2. alan.sloman says:

    Getting there, then!
    🙂
    Before I set out on my Lejog it was the technology that was the real headache! (Mind you – things were different then, men were men and nobody minded when they wore high heels)

    Get on with it girl! We all need someone ‘out there’ walking for us all so we can be all snuggly on our settees in front of a warm fire enjoying your blog of the rain and the bog oozing into your shoes…

  3. Gayle says:

    Completely agree with Mr. Sloman there (not about the men wearing high heels; about needing someone out blogging a good walk).

    Looks like the big ‘which device’ decision is getting close to a conclusion.

  4. alan.sloman says:

    That looks very sexy

    Does it make phone calls?
    🙂

  5. John Hesp says:

    Nice one Shirl. From what I can gather HTC is what people aspire to. And there was I trying to fob you off with a cheapy……

    John

    • peewiglet says:

      What a lottery it eventually turned out to be!

      Many thanks for all those very helpful suggestions and links yesterday. They were great, and I followed them all up. The Toshiba was a very interesting one, but in the end it just sounded too big.

      Happily I was able to get a used TyTN (stupid name…) from Ebay: I wouldn’t have been able to buy it new.

      Bloody hell, though. It looks more complicated than my desktop computer!

Leave a Reply

