Whoooohooooo!!!!!

I have a trial!

My interview went better even than I could have hoped. I’d gone armed with lies designed to conceal the fact that I’ve been working as a lawyer for ever–it puts people off, I’ve noticed–and I was afraid that the bloke might turn me away immediately when he spotted that I’m not a 16 year old bimbo, but when we started chatting I just told him the truth, and it turned out that he viewed my age and experience as the potential assets that they really are 🙂

So! I have a 3 hour trial next Friday evening, so that he can make an assessment of whether I’m able to work with his staff. I’ve never had a problem working with peeps before, and I’m very happy to be told what to do, so I’ll be very disappointed, and surprised, if that doesn’t go okay. Although I don’t want to count any chickens etc etc, and so I’m not assuming that all will be fine.

Still, though, it’s very happy-making not to be turned away because I’m ‘over-qualified’, or because I don’t already have experience of something that I know I can learn to do pretty quickly, or because I’m too old 🙂 It really made my evening!

*does the happy dance*

Oh… and even more importantly, my darling Piglet is one year old today. I can’t help but feel a bit emotional when I think of it. She’s turned out such a lovely, sunny, friendly little dog. An absolute darling, in fact. Everybody loves her–even the cat! She’s downstairs, now, chewing on her birthday bone 🙂 I love her more than I can say.

Darling Piglet -- the Wee Dote

Darling Piglet -- the Wee Dote

Thanks for all the support re: the job, y’all, and the advice about what to wear. It was very much appreciated ♥ ♥ ♥

18 Responses to Whoooohooooo!!!!!

  1. alan.sloman says:

    Bloody well done, ol’ thing!

    ‘tsalways best to let them know the awful truth about your youth & inexperience!

    So – any pictures of the outfit? I am a sucker for a svelte waitress… We Need Pictures! And – Happy B’day Piglet! How’s her wounds?

    • peewiglet says:

      Thank you ♥

      No piccies of the outfit yet, though Piglet’s been messing with the camera. Her wee wounds are almost resolved now, thanks, though there’s still a little dark patch on the front of one leg where the fur is growing back in.

      *experiences wee frisson of guilt*

  2. blogpackinglight says:

    good news 🙂

  3. Shirl, congrats you will be great.
    Happy birthday to Piglet, my pack knows all about losing bodily parts.

  4. philt says:

    Wooooohooooooo indeed! As my American other-half would say: “Good Job!” (and there’d be a high-five too).

  5. Tini says:

    Brilliant news! Well done you.

    Happy, happy birthday to little Piglet – and the Doodlecat says Meow.

    Luv Tini & Phil x

  6. kateC says:

    happy birthday piglet! and congratulations on the job-will you be bringing doggy bags home 😉

  7. Laura says:

    Congratulations on getting the job – and a wee cuddle for Piglet (I won’t sing – it’s always a mistake).

  8. baz carter says:

    Good news Shirl. And happy birthday piglet. Harry says Woof!

  9. Mike Knipe says:

    Well done Shirley – and remember, Never Kill a Customer.

    Just a tip there for you…..

Leave a Reply

