Borders — Whaddyathink?

Peepses,

I’m going to move as soon as I can sell my house.

I’ve been thinking Yorkshire (maybe Cumbria), but now I’m also looking at the Borders. It’s beautiful up there, and I’m more likely to be able to afford the sort of garden that Piglet, Piss-Piss and I would like than I am in North Yorkshire, where gardens seem to be disturbingly thin on the ground.

I’m just wondering whether anyone has any thoughts on this. I know the Borders aren’t Outer Mongolia, but they’re a long way from where I currently live. Any relevant experiences to share? All contributions most welcome 🙂

8 Responses to Borders — Whaddyathink?

  1. PhilT says:

    It’s not THAT cheap – people are discovering that it’s commutable to Glasgow and Edinburgh. My old boss used to drive Kelso to Edinburgh every day, so you’re not too remote. There’s also a decent bus service in that neck of the woods. It actually sounds like an idyllic place to live, often overlooked as people head along the motorway. Plus I’m slowly moving to Glasgow so you’ll be closer for weekend walking – but that’s just me being selfish :-).

    There’s not a train station around though….

  2. peewiglet says:

    Thanks, Phil 🙂

    It’s not cheap, but it’s a lot less expensive than Yorkshire and Cumbria. I’ve not spent much time up there, though, so I’m trying to get an idea of how the land lies. I’ve been looking mainly towards the East coast.

  3. Laura says:

    Must be great minds thinking again – we’re looking to move from NE Scotland to around Berwickshire somewhere. Easier access (train/road/bus) to the family further south but still in touch with the north. It’s quite an attractive area and there’s some good walking.

  4. Sal says:

    Hello all – newbie here! Just wanted to add my tuppence worth – is this a Border terrier thing? I know 2 Border terriers who are named after local places. Kelsie (Kelso really, but that’s how they say it up there) and Jed (yes, Jedburgh). So would Piglet have to become Duns?? Pity 🙂

    • peewiglet says:

      Hi there!

      Uh-oh… I’m not sure how Piglet would react to a change of title. It’s taken her 12 months to learn to even chuck a glance in my direction when I call her name! Maybe she could be Peebles??? Better still, possibly we could rename Duns as Piglet. I’m sure that would throw a cat amongst the pigeons (but hopefully not Piss-Puss) *g*

  5. Mango Terrier says:

    NZ 154 882

Leave a Reply

