In desperation…

I’ve lost the paper counterpart to my photo driving licence. I need it next week, but have searched the house without success.

In desperation, I’m posting to ask whether anyone can think of any reason why I might have needed it, in the hope that it might jog my memory. I’ve not had a speeder or anything for yonks (*touches wood*) so didn’t need to produce it, but it wasn’t in the folder thingy with my car stuff when I gave it to the Skoda dealer last week. I hope…

Any suggestions about why I might have needed the paper part of my DL? Not for ID, as I have a passport, and the photo part of my DL. Is there anything else???

4 Responses to In desperation…

  1. Mango Terrier says:

    You need to produce the paper part if you’re renting a vehicle …

    • peewiglet says:

      Good thinking, Mango ♥ However, I’ve not rented a vehicle for a long time.

      Annoyingly, I can remember having it out and thinking “Just make sure you put that back when you’ve finished…” Clearly I didn’t, though, and I can’t remember why I had it.

      *sobs*

  2. alan.sloman says:

    Having just renewed my car insurance, you need to tell the Insurance Co if you have had any points on nyour license in the last 5 years, so you might have taken it out of the plastic thingy to see? Could it be in your car insurance file? (Sounds very organised, doesn’t it – I have an important things pile on my desk.. I am sure that others will organise these things properly…)

    • peewiglet says:

      Um… Car Insurance File???

      *falls about laughing*

      Until recently I’ve had my car insurance on direct debit, and the certificate was always somewhere in a pile of unopened letters from Direct Line. On the odd occasion that I’ve needed to produce it I’ve had to dig through the letters and open them to find the certificate *g*

      I have ‘important things’ piles all over the house, unfortunately. I never get round to putting them away until something dramatic happens–like a house viewer–and then I shove them all in a plastic bag and put it somewhere, safe in the knowledge that I’ll be able to find the things if I ever need it because they’ll be in a plastic bag somewhere. Yeah, right… 😦

Leave a Reply

