Compassion in World Farming — Short film about veal

Compassion in World Farming is the only charity I’m a member of. They’re in no way one of the nutty animal charities, and they’re not campaigning to stop people from eating meat. They’re simply attempting to improve conditions for farmed animals.

Here‘s a link to a short film they put up today about veal available in London, and the confusion that sometimes surrounds its origins.

I found it quite disturbing, because although I do eat meat I always ask in a restaurant whether it’s free-range before ordering it. To be honest, I don’t normally bother to order meat when I eat out because, around here, so little of it *is* actually free-range. If I feel there’s a possibilty that it might be, though, then I’ll ask. It’s very disturbing to see that even in the Connaught Hotel it’s possible to be given the wrong answer 😦

6 Responses to Compassion in World Farming — Short film about veal

  1. alan.sloman says:

    Dispiriting. I suppose you can stick to beef, lamb or fish – they can’t really keep them indoors all year?

    Perhaps best to stay away from pork (shocking conditions at times) and chicken.

    Having said that I suppose I am a dreadful hypocrite as I just love fois gras…

    • peewiglet says:

      Dispiriting. I suppose you can stick to beef, lamb or fish – they can’t really keep them indoors all year?

      Unfortunately, it’s even more complicated than that. I tend to agree on the fish, but with the beef and lamb there’s an issue about slaughter. Some of the poor things are sent hundreds–sometimes thousands–of miles, in cramped conditions, and left stressed and hungry, waiting to be slaughtered. So the fact that they live out for part of the year doesn’t mean they’ve been treated compassionately.

      There’s some information about it on this page, and lots more on the CIWF site.

  2. Mango Terrier says:

    Right on, sister!

  3. Mike Knipe says:

    I can’t do with this kind of cruelty – I spent several years as an eejit who only ate game (based on the theory that whatever it was never knew what hit it). And vegetables, based on the theory that they deserved everything that was coming to them. This is making me want to return to that.

    The proper way to do it was once described to me by a Durham miner who’s dad kept a pig and treated it as a family pet, feeding it up and generally being gentle till one day he slapped it between the eyes with a hammer and chisel. The pig never knew what was coming and died happy and very suddenly.

    Thats the way it should be done.

    On the up-side – you do tend to get better scoff, on the whole – who’d be a slaughter man anyway – there’s something wrong with a person who wants to do that for a career.

Leave a Reply

