Audiobooks RuleZ!!!

I’ve just finished listening to Vanity Fair. Since it lasted for 31 hours and 6 minutes, and I only listen when walking Piglet, cooking, clearing up the house or driving, I seem to have been listening to it for an awfully long time. It was well worth it, though, and I’m rather sorry that it’s finally come to an end. Although it was first published about 160 years ago, my lasting impression will be that nothing changes *g*

Now for something completely different, though: The Men Who Stare At Goats. Ooh… here’s what they say about it over on Audible.co.uk!

Britain’s funniest and most insightful satirist reveals extraordinary military secrets at the core of George W. Bush’s War on Terror.

Entertaining and alarming in equal parts, this is a true account of the US military’s experimentation with the supernatural.

In 1979, a secret unit was established by the most gifted minds within the US army. Defying all known accepted military practice – and, indeed, the laws of physics – they believed that a soldier could adopt the cloak of invisibility, pass cleanly through walls and, perhaps most chillingly, kill goats just by staring at them. Entrusted with defending America from all known adversaries, they were the First Earth Battalion. And they really weren’t joking. What’s more, they’re back and fighting the War on Terror.

Just my sort of thing, then! I remember loving a book that I thought was called “The New Soviet Psychology“, way back about a thousand years ago, when I was still at school, and it sounds as though this is more of the same. I can’t find a book of that name, though, and suspect that it must have been The New Soviet Psychic Discoveries.

Hey! Could be there’s something in it after all. Surely the USA and the USSR wouldn’t have spent such a lot of money and time on something utterly trivial…? I will let you know when I’ve finished listening…

*cue spooky music*

And what’s next? The Devil Wears Prada and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. Yes, I love audiobooks! *g*

2 Responses to Audiobooks RuleZ!!!

  1. kateC says:

    we love audio books, great for long drives and quiet camp nights. on the whw we got addicted to pd james!

  2. Laura says:

    Are you a member of Audiobooks? I’m quite interested in joining but I once had a bad experience with a book club so it put me off a bit.

Leave a Reply

