A whinge

I applied for a job back in November. It was with a large, national employer that I’m not going to identify here, because of course I’m afraid that if they stumble across my complaint then that’ll be the end of my prospects of a job with them.

Anyway, they were advertising a job in the town where I live. I had a letter inviting me for interview, and I went along in December. I had aptitude tests and an interview, and then I filled in what felt like a hundred forms.

A couple of weeks later I received a letter telling me that I’d been succcessful. Deep joy! However, as I read on it turned out that they’d actually been conducting a recruitment ‘excercise’ across the whole county, and that I’m now on a waiting list of people qualifed to be appointed to jobs as, when and/or if they arise during the next 6 months. Heaven only knows how many other people might be on the list, and how many jobs (if any) might eventually turn out to be available.

This has really pissed me off. I need to get a job to help cover my expenses while I wait to sell my blasted house. I also need a job to get a mortgage in order to buy my next house, since this one’s now been on the market for more than 12 months, and obviously I have bills to pay. If they’d come clean and made it clear that they were simply conducting some sort of notional recruitment exercise I’d still have applied, but at least then I’d have known where I stood, and wouldn’t have imagined that by the end of January I’d be able to cover the bills without eating further into my rapidly dwindling capital.

IMO it’s cruel to draw people into this sort of process with the promise of well-paid (well, ish…) employment at the end of it, and only when they’ve jumped successfully through all the hoops tell them that there might well not be a job after all. This employer should certainly know better.

Right. Whinge over for now.

11 Responses to A whinge

  1. Gibson says:

    That is a truly appalling way to treat anyone. I’d say they need a new HR Director. (I was one).

    Companies like that need to be exposed, although I appreciate that you can’t do that for the reasons you give.

    I don’t know you (although I feel like I do!) and I’d hire you on the basis of your delightful blog alone. I really do hope that this all works out for you.

    • peewiglet says:

      Thanks, Gibson ♥

      I think that some organisations are simply so large that they lose sight of the fact that they’re dealing with individual human beings. I’m sure no malice was intended. Still, though, it *is* an appalling way to treat people.

  2. Mike Knipe says:

    I used to be involved in recruitment and I would agree that their practises here are, in a word, duff. (I had another word, but I didn’t want to spoil your blog)
    The question we should ask oursleves is, would we really want to work for them? Its a buyers market at the moment, but that may be a temporary phase.
    Its also a duff strategy because most of the “successful” candidates will probably get other jobs whilst they’re waiting. They’re chucking money away!

    • peewiglet says:

      I reckon I know that word *g*

      You’re right, of course, and in an ideal world I wouldn’t want to work for them. Right now, though, I’d happily do so. Besides… Piglet says she’s sick of me hanging around the house. I think she and Piss-Piss have a plan to stage a perpetual party when I’m out!

      Back to the drawing board…

  3. Laura says:

    What a terrible way to treat people! As Mike says would you really be comfortable working for this company? Is Watchdog still on the tele – you could warn other hopefuls about this appalling practice.

    • Piglet Monster says:

      Thanks Laura, and sorry for the delayed response.

      I’ll keep Watchdog in mind if I manage to find something else in the meantime!

  4. kateC says:

    rubbish! does that also mean you could be offered a job anywhere? i bet they’re thinking in the current climate they can get away with such practices. easy to say but i’d look else where. good luck 🙂

    • peewiglet says:

      Thanks, Kate. Apolog’s for the delayed response: I missed the last couple of postings in this thread.

      No, we had to say where we were willing to work, so at least they won’t be offering me a job in Bognor Regis *g*

  5. GeoffC says:

    Does this company have the laughable ‘Investing in people’ displayed on its doors, I wonder?.
    Anyway good luck with finding a job in these times, I’m glad to be out of that game.

  6. […] Whinge – Update Some time ago I posted about my recent experience of having applied, successfully, for a job, as part of what later turned out […]

Leave a Reply

