Huge fish!

P’s barking alerted me to the presence of a huge fish–3 feet long, or more–at the edge of the water.

The waves were turning it in the sandy surf, and although it was clearly stricken I wasn’t sure that it was dead until the waves spun it once again, and I saw that one large, baleful eye was missing.

P refused to approach it. She’s become a bit of a scaredy dog recently, possibly as a result of having been attacked down here a month or so ago.

11 Responses to Huge fish!

  1. Piglet Monster says:

    Wow, d’you think that’s what it was? I’ll go and have a look later online (just back from the walk). Perhaps Piggly knew and was instincively afraid!

    I didn’t bring it home. Even if I’d been inclined to do so, I’d have had no way of carrying it. It really was very big. It looked to be in perfect condition, though, other than its poor, missing eye.

  2. Alan Rayner says:

    Yes, def a conger! Good eating but you never know why it died. Leave it for the flying cleaners.

  3. Andy Howell says:

    Yep — leave these alone. Goodness knows what killed it!

  4. JH says:

    Just kidding. I’m sure somebody who watches Masterchef wouldn’t bring a piece of rotten fish home. The resteraunt might buy it though 🙂

  5. Shirl, forget the others above that is the spawn of Godzilla.
    Bloomin heck we’re looking at the start of another Cloverfield.

  6. peewiglet says:

    Perhaps Piggly’s barking scared it to death. And its missing eye was a coincidence. Or maybe not… *g*

    Wow, though… I’ve swum in that sea! An awfully long time ago, it has to be said, but it certainly didn’t cross my mind that there were piglet-eating monsters lurking beneath the waves!

    I saw a conger in its natural habitat when I was on a diving expedition to Belize back in 1990, and they’re truly scary beasties.

  7. Mike Knipe says:

    Probably been keeping an eye out for a predator.

    I’ll get me coat….

  8. Laura says:

    Don’t worry, I’ll get it for you…..

    • peewiglet says:

      I’ve been back for a word, and it says it’ll be waiting for you next to the dead jellyfish and the pile of razor clam shells.

      (I’m not entirely sure, but I think it was licking its lip.)

Leave a Reply

