Yesterday’s thread

I’ve made yesterday’s thread private, because I found the sight of the nastiness on it so utterly depressing this morning.

Anyone who posted to it, who for any reason wants to re-read it, should drop me an email, and I’ll find a way to make it accessible to you.

I’ve never done this before with a thread on my blog. I hope it’s the first and last time.

20 Responses to Yesterday’s thread

  1. Sorry to hear this. I would say don’t nastiness. It’s your blog.

    Do you get to approve comments before they appear? I do. On one thread one poster, who was agreeing with me, sent a comment with an unpleasant personal attack on another poster who was disagreeing with me – but in a perfectly polite and friendly manner. I didn’t post the nasty comment but instead a comment of my own saying that I would not publish personal attacks. I haven’t had any further such comments. If I do get any I won’t post them.

    • peewiglet says:

      Thanks, Chris.

      I can choose to approve comments, but I didn’t think I needed to before this. I may start doing it in future.

  2. John Horner says:

    Well done Shirl,lets have the niceness back.

  3. Michael says:

    I did read it this morning. It was’nt nice.
    Just delete the offending comments you object to. And add the posters to your “Always moderate” list. By default, any one with a previously published comment is automaticly approved. You can change that. Also, to give only certain people access to that post, assign a password to it.

    I would just delete the comments, and set it to no comments allowed, after the good ones to keep.

  4. peewiglet says:

    John – Ta! x

    Michael – Many thanks for all the info. I didn’t realise it was possible to be as flexible as that re: moderation. I’ll take a proper look.

  5. rob says:

    PW, I hope this experience doesn’t dent your enthusiasm. I saw what was going on and like most people, I am sure, chose to stay well out of it..

    I look forward to your posts and alway find them very uplifting.

    Keep up the good work 🙂

  6. Gibson says:

    I don’t moderate comments either, and hope I never have to, but I don’t get anything like the number of replies to posts that you do so the risk of things escalating is much less. I think I’d stop it immediately anyway.

    I usually feel like an “outsider” when I post to your blog (or others) because I’ve always assumed you were all friends through the TGO or whatever. It didn’t seem like it last evening but no doubt all will be mended in due course. I hope so.

  7. Sal says:

    Missed the comments, but I just wanted to add my voice to the other messages of support. Like Gibson, I assumed every one else was a chum, and I’m really sorry if you’ve been upset by people using your (delightful) blog to further their own agendas. Nil illegitimi carborundum!

  8. blogpackinglight says:

    Sorry to hear that. Didn’t see the comments. Be aware there are a lot of people in cyberspace who like and respect you, even if we’ve not met you in person. Via the web you have become a valued friend to many.

  9. PhilW says:

    I was rather surprised by the things going on there and felt obliged to make a posting, but then decided I would not look or comment any further. So now I can’t and I fully support and understand your reasons for locking it.

    Though many of us know you only through your blog, website, and the ocassional podcast I probably speak for many when I say that we think we know you to a fair degree. You (and others) have been shabbily treated by the organisation mentioned yesterday and you deserve much better.

    I hope you weren’t too upset by the posts yesterday. Sometimes things get out of hand – hope we can all be friends?

  10. Hawthorns says:

    Hi, PW

    I’d read the thread in question and, up to that point, it all seemed to be fairly amicable. I moderate all of my responses but I don’t get many and, so far, I’ve never needed to disallow one. That said, I have had to apologise for being a bit slow off the mark with getting them through onto the blog.

    Anyway, this ones not rally intended for publication, I just wondered if you had considered the voluntary sector. I work for Age Concern down here in the West Midlands and although you’ll never get rich it ain’t all bad.

    I’m not sure what type of work you’re looking for but this is the link for the A C Liverpool vacancies:

    http://www.ageconcernliverpool.org.uk/index.php?page=job-vacancies

    The Age Concerns you see around are mostly separate charities in their own right (so Liverpool would be separate from Manchester which would be separate again from Sheffield, and so on …).

    Anyway, it was just a thought.

    Good luck and regards

    Hawthorns

  11. peewiglet says:

    Rob — Many thanks for your kind words about my posts. They’re much appreciated!

    Gibson — No need to feel like an outsider! We’re a bit of a mix on here: some TGO peeps, some peeps from other walking places and occasionally a pal or two from a non-walking context. Not all of us have met yet, but the Challenge always provides a great opportunity to finally meet long-standing cyber pals.

    Sal — Many thanks, and not to worry. Things just got a little out of hand.

    Robin — Thank you: that’s very kind ♥ Peeps weren’t being nasty to me, btw: just a couple of people casting vitriol around.

    PhilW — You were better off out of it! I really appreciate your kind comments, and I’m hoping things will blow over in time.

    Hawthorns — oops! I’ve not set any moderating stuff yet and so it was published automatically *g* Thank you for the Age Concern links: I’ll look them up. It would certainly feel good to know I was doing something valuable.

  12. Mike Knipe says:

    The comments were numbering 34 when I last looked at this. Luckily, perhaps, I had nothing to add that I hadn’t already said about the organisation involved in the previous post you made (worra set of [phrase self censored])

    Anyway – its a good idea to moderate, in my umble opinion. I think I’ve bounced four comments so far, one fairly abusive one, one quite abuusive one, one in Portuguese which could have been abusive, but was probably a mistake and one which appeared to be from a chinese company selling footwear that looks like NIKE.

  13. Paul says:

    If someone want to send you an e-mail where would one find your e-maill address?

    E-mail would be about “other stuff” 😉

  14. Hawthorns says:

    You’re welcome. If you want to know a bit more detail just put a note on my blog (I won’t publish it) and I’ll email you anything I can think of which might be helpful. Opportunities come along from time to time and some people seem to find the voluntary sector really suits them.

  15. Mike says:

    Didn’t see the comments and I only know you through blogs, podcasts and trip reports but I can tell you don’t deserve any abuse and I’m sorry to hear you have.

    I definately second all the supportive thoughts above.

  16. Louise says:

    Typical me, always one day behind, quite glad I missed the bus on this occasion! Sorry to read you’ve had problems, it’s usually quite fun over here which is why I pop by, aswell as intelligent and imformative ofcourse. Perhaps wise to change your comment settings in future.

Leave a Reply

