Kudos to Trekmates, and good luck to Claire

Great kudos to Trekmates! Yesterday I stumbled across a fantastic offer on their website: their Amphibian Gore-Tex Shell Socks (only available in small) reduced from £29.99 to £9.99 per pair. They’ve been discontinued, apparently, but since I’m not very fond of Sealskinz (they’re bulky, they seem to spring leaks quickly and I find it virtually impossible to dry them in the tent) I decided to give the Amphibians a try.

I ordered two pairs yesterday afternoon at about 1.45pm, and they arrived this morning with the postman! When I asked, on ringing yesterday afternoon to check that the socks were in stock, how long they were likely to take to arrive, I was told that they’d probably come this morning if the dispatch man was as quick as he usually is, so it sounds as though this level of service may be typical for them. I’ve not bought from Trekmates before, but I’d be very happy to do so again.

Incidentally, Trekmates describe ‘small’ as being sizes 6-7. I have size 7 feet in most walking shoes, and I found the socks slightly large, so anyone out there with size 8s who may be wondering whether or not to give them a go may just be in luck. I plan to use them with my trail shoes on wet days.

Tonight’s the final of Professional Masterchef, so fingers crossed all round for Claire, please. She’s been hugely impressive throughout on every front, and it brings me real joy to see her do so well despite the disadvantages she faces as (i) a woman (ii) a scouser and (iii) a portly sort of person. If there’s any justice in the world then she’ll be lifting the cup tonight 🙂

4 Responses to Kudos to Trekmates, and good luck to Claire

  1. alan.sloman says:

    It can’t be all that grim up north. The chefs are from Liverpool, Durham and the north east somewhere or other.. (South Shields?)

    That’s a long way to go for a great plate of food… It will be interesting but I think you’ll be right. (What with positive discrimination etc etc…) I’ll get my coat…

  2. Richard Lewis says:

    Claire was a worthy winner and since she is from the Wirral, she’s not actually a scouser . . .so that makes it altogether more palatable

    • peewiglet says:

      She was wonderful!

      *wipes away a tear*

      Not a scouser if from the Wirral, eh? Okay, then. Maybe we true scousers on this side of the river will grant her honourary scousership just for this evening *g*

Leave a Reply

