Mini potato rant

Perhaps this is just me, but I find it incredibly annoying to find bags full of tiny spuds at the supermarket when I want to buy potatoes for mashing or roasting. All the big ones have been removed, so that they can be sold seperately as baking potatoes. Or at least that’s my theory.

It’s extremely annoying! The tiny ones are too small to make decent roasties, and by the time they’ve been peeled they’re so small that they disintegrate into mush if I try to cook them for mashed potatoes. I tried to get some decent King Edward’s or Maris Piper this morning, but all the bags contained one or two medium sized spuds and a collection of tiddlers. I had to buy some okay-sized nameless ‘white potatoes’ in the end, which is something I swore I’d never do.

Grrrrr! Roll on the day when I can grow my own…

10 Responses to Mini potato rant

  1. alan.sloman says:

    I guess it’s small potatoes in the overall scheme of things though…

    Be sure to net and alarm your potatoes when you do grow your own though… Potato thieves are everywhere.

    • peewiglet says:

      Oh, yes. I’d forgotten about the potatoes from your garden.

      Well, I suppose that if I plant and look after some I’ll prolly want to eat them too.

  2. BG! says:

    “Grrrrr! Roll on the day when I can grow my own…”

    Can you not grow some in bags, PW? It’s a doddle, needs no garden and is as cheap as… well… chips. We’re growing four bags of Anya and two bags of Charlotte here, you wouldn’t be happy with those as they’re small spuds but you could grow Lumpers I suppose. Got the bags cheap at the garden centre but they’re dirt-cheap on FleaBay.

    If the potato-thieves are outside the door, you could bring the bags in overnight. Or vice versa 🙂

    • peewiglet says:

      Hi BG 🙂

      I’ll go down the bag route happily, but I’m hoping to move house first. I don’t want to leave them behind. Tomatoes too, I reckon 🙂

  3. Paul Lydon says:

    Plus you could try green grocers and other small shops instead of the supermarkets! We always get our fruit and veg frin our village shop – and very good they are too.

  4. Andy Howell says:

    Planted my new potatoes on Saturday 🙂

    There’s nothing quite like it. These will keep Kate and I going for most of the summer.

Leave a Reply

