Attic storage suggestions?

Hello!

My new bedroom is an attic, and there’s only really one place where it’s possible for me to stand without banging my head.

The roof slopes down very steeply towards longitudinal oak beams that are only a few feet off the floor. That means it’s much too low for any conventional clothes storage, like a chest of drawers or wardrobe.

I’ve been trying to work out how to create some kind of storage for clothes that won’t fit into the chest of drawers and wardrobe in the bedroom on the floor below. I also need space for some larger non-clothing things that I don’t use often but don’t want to throw away. I’d rather not just arrange those things on the floor at the far edges as I want my bedroom to feel relaxed and comfy, rather than like a storage unit.

Does anybody have any ideas for creating storage in low areas like this? I’ve not yet been able to find anything that sounds appropriate on the Ikea or Argos sites. I’ve asked a local joiner to come and take a look, and she’s suggested making a low shelf out of chipboard and running a curtain in front of it, but I’d rather not do the curtain thing if I can avoid it.

Any ideas, anybody? All suggestions welcome.

4 Responses to Attic storage suggestions?

  1. Laura says:

    Have you got any usable space under your bed?
    I find those big vacuum packing bags quite good especially for things you don’t need very often.

    How about a big wooden chest – which you could also use to sit on?

    If the room is big enough perhaps a kind of full height false wall which would hide everything behind it but still leave the room clutter-free? (I’ve seen it done on one of those property programmes….)

    I’m sure you’ve thought of all these things already…so now I’ll shut up……

    • peewiglet says:

      Hi, Laura

      There are drawers in the bed, but they’re currently filled with bed linen unfortunately.

      The chest’s a good idea, thanks. I’ve actually got one downstairs ATM, and I’ve been wondering whether to move it out of the sitting room as it’s taking up quite a lot of space. I could certainly store some things in there.

      What I’d really like to achieve is John’s suggestion below i.e. for somebody to build a set of drawers under the eaves. I’ve got a bloke who gives woodworking tuition and hopefully he might be able to tell me how it can be done 🙂

  2. JH says:

    “I’ve asked a local joiner to come and take a look, and she’s suggested making a low shelf out of chipboard and running a curtain in front of it”

    Hopefully she was just making a money saving suggestion rather than giving her professional opinion.

    What about getting her to build a set of drawers into the space. The bottom drawer would extend a long way back, and the top drawer would be very short, but that’s okay. It would give you a vast amount of storage space, make the room feel more like a room, and provide additional insulation*.

    The front of the drawers could be of a style that suits the house, and the drawers could run on those roller bearing slides that are used in kitchen drawers.

    Sure, it’ll cost more; but you’ll find it more useful, more attractive, and it’ll add value to the house.

    John

    *By the way, make sure the underside of the roof is well insulated before installing any storage here or water might condense on the clothing. Whilst you’re at it, make sure the whole of the underside of the roof is well insulated or you’ll freeze in winter (and run up a big fuel bill).

    • peewiglet says:

      Hi John,

      That’s what I’d really like i.e. some built-in drawers. Your suggestion sounds perfect. I’ll see if the tutor can tell me how it can be done, or even supervise my doing it myself. That would be quite a thrill!

Leave a Reply

